I Can Do Both: Being a Black Blogger

My assignment for this week is just to write a short blog post and since talking about shows requires a few hundred words, I figured I’ll quickly explain why I chose to center my blog around entertainment.

My mother. That’s it. It’s all her fault as to why I’m addicted to TV and movies because she is addicted as well. Around middle school my mother started introducing me to the programs that she watched growing up. I don’t know if this was the very beginning or I just began noticing it more as I got older, but I’ll say this was my start. Her favorite shows were: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman and Xena: Warrior Princess and she ordered the DVDs for them. My mother and I were binge watching before binging was even a thing. In between that she showed me A Different World, Living Single, Knight Rider, Wonder Woman, Martin, V, The Incredible Hulk and TONS more. Now mix that with the shows from my generation; The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, Zoey 101, That’s So Raven and basically all of Cartoon Network, you get a little piece of who I am. Let’s not even talk about the movies.

But being a black woman attending a place of higher learning who considers herself ‘woke’, I felt obligated to blog about issues pertaining to me being a black woman in America. Obligated because this could be another platform to inform and teach in a time of turmoil, yet it also made me feel limited. Why can’t I be a social justice warrior and also want to talk about comics and movies. I eventually learned that I can do whatever I want and it doesn’t make me any less of a black woman OR a TV junkie to talk about either. Which is why this blog exist for me. Now don’t get me wrong, if a show is being racist, homophobic, sexist, etc., I will talk about it because I ain’t here for it… But I can DO both. I can BE both. So let me leave you with a quote from the brilliant Audre Lorde:

“Black and Third World people are expected to educate white people as to our humanity. Women are expected to educate men. Lesbians and gay men are expected to educate the heterosexual world. The oppressors maintain their position and evade their responsibility for their own actions. There is a constant drain of energy which might be better used in redefining ourselves and devising realistic scenarios for altering the present and constructing the future.”

giphy

3 thoughts on “I Can Do Both: Being a Black Blogger

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

